Laundry Etiquette

blog 4

After a week away from my house on campus, my housemates and I all returned with loads of laundry.  The problem?  Only one washer and dryer to share between seven girls.  However, I do prefer this set up over the large laundry rooms in the dorm-like housing options on campus, which I had to deal with for my first two years of college.  In the large, shared laundry rooms it is important do have good laundry etiquette.

blog 2The number one problem with sharing laundry units is that other people get impatient.  You should time your washes and promptly remove your clothes from the machines.  If your clothes are in the dryer and you know that you will not make it back on time, you can leave your laundry basket on top of the machine you are using so the next user can easily toss your clothes in it.  If you are really lucky, sometimes the next person will even fold your clothes for you!

If all of the machines are full when you get there, it is acceptable to move someone else’s clothes from the washer to a dryer.  Some people get very upset by this, but chances are they will never know it was you who did it anyways!  If later when you return to dry your clothes all of the dryers are full, you can again take out someone else’s clothes as long as their cycle is done and the clothes feel fully dry.  If you do choose to do this though, make sure you place them nicely where the owner will find them.   The golden rule in life even applies to laundry etiquette- treat other peoples’ clothes as you would like others to treat yours.  blog 3

3 thoughts on “Laundry Etiquette

  1. I lived in a the UC last year which has communal washers and dryers and it frustrated me so much when people would leave their laundry in the washer/dryer for HOURS at a time. It would be to a point where almost none of them were running but were all full. I really think they should have more consideration. Glad someone feels the same way I do about this and appreciates proper laundry etiquette.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. One thing that I find irritating about laundry users at High Point are that some will take your clothes out of the dryer even though they’re still wet or not transfer your wet clothes to a dryer. It really slows down the laundry process because my clothes end up having to be put through the wash again because they end up smelling. I think the main concept is treat others laundry as you would.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment