The Approach of Graduation Day

With our college graduation just two short weeks away everyone is starting to get antsy.  Whether they are sad about leaving or excited to start the next chapter of their lives, everyone is counting down the days.  blog 3Personally, I am dreading becoming an official adult.  I think this is because I dislike change and I am afraid of the unknown.  If I had a job set in stone waiting for me to graduate, then maybe I would be more excited; however, as of right now I don’t have a clue what my next step is going to be.  College has been my safety net for the past four years and now I actually have to join the real world.

One piece of advice that I need to keep in mind is that it is okay to not know what’s next.  I am the type of person who likes to have a plan, so it I find it scary that I have nothing set for after college yet.  Not having my life planned out for once could be exciting though! I just need to keep an open mind and stay positive.  This can be especially difficult when I hear my classmates announcing their future plans and I am just reminded that I still have none.  I also need to remember that there are no “shoulds”.  “I should have it all figured out.”  “I should get a job right out of school and get my own apartment.”  These are things that we tell ourselves we are supposed to do, but in reality if things don’t fall into place exactly how they “should”, everything will still be okay. Eventually everything will work out and everything will fall into place, it may just not happen as quickly or in the order that you expect.  But sometimes the best things in life happen unexpectedly!

blog 2

One thought on “The Approach of Graduation Day

  1. I’ve enjoyed your blog this semester. Great words of wisdom for any college students. Don’t fret about not having a job lined up. It sounds like you are being choosy (turning down a few options) and that is important to get on the career path you want. You are very talented and will eventually land an opportunity that is not only a good one, but the right one!

    Like

Leave a comment